

Supreme Court of Florida

Office of the Clerk 500 South Duval Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1927

JOHN A. TOMASINO
CLERK
MARK CLAYTON
CHIEF DEPUTY CLERK
KRISTINA SAMUELS
STAFF ATTORNEY

April 2, 2015

PHONE NUMBER: (850) 488-0125 www.floridasupremecourt.org

Honorable Rick Scott, Governor The Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32399

EMAIL DELIVERY

Re: Certification Required Pursuant to "Timely Justice Act of 2013" January-March, 2015, Quarterly Report

Dear Governor Scott:

The following individuals now meet the criteria to be added to the certification list previously submitted to your office on January 14, 2015:

Anderson, Fred Jr.
Lugo, Daniel
Mendoza, Marbel

Pope, Thomas Dewey Rodriguez, Manuel Antonio

The recently enacted Death Penalty Reform Act specifies that as Clerk of Court of the Supreme Court of Florida I am to certify in writing to you "that a person convicted and sentenced to death before or after the effective date of the act," has:

1. Completed such person's direct appeal and initial postconviction proceeding in state court and habeas corpus proceeding and appeal there-from in federal court; or

Honorable Rick Scott, Governor April 2, 2015

Page: 2

2. Allowed the time permitted¹ for filing a habeas petition in federal court to expire.

Based on the records available to me,² listed below is the complete list of individuals³ under sentence of death⁴ including those added this quarter who have completed the direct appeal and initial postconviction proceeding in state court and the habeas proceeding and appeal there-from in federal court as defined in the statute.

Allen, Lloyd Chase Alston, Pressley Anderson, Fred, Jr. Anderson, Richard Harold Archer, Robin Lee Asay, Mark James Atwater, Jeffrey Lee Beasley, Curtis W. Belcher, James Bell, Michael Bernard Blanco, Omar Bolin, Oscar Ray⁵ Booker, Stephen Todd Bowles, Gary Ray Branch, Eric Scott Brown, Paul Alfred Burns, Daniel Jr. Card. James Armand Cave, Alphonso Cole, Loran Connor, Seburt Consalvo, Robert A. Correll, Jerry William* Cox, Allen Ward Cumming-El, Frederick W. Dailey, James Milton Darling, Dolan Carlton Davis, Adam William

Dessaure, Kenneth Dillbeck, Donald David Doorbal, Noel Doyle, Daniel Lee Duckett, James Aren Evans. Paul H. Evans, Steven Maurice Evans, Wydell Jody Fennie, Alfred Lewis Finney, Charles William Ford, James D. Foster, Charles Foster, Jermaine A. Fotopoulos, Konstantios X. Franqui, Leonardo ⁶ Freeman, John D. Gamble, Guy R. Gaskin, Louis B. Gonzalez, Ricardo Gordon, Robert Griffin, Michael Allen Grim, Norman Gudinas, Thomas Lee Haliburton, Jerry Leon Hamilton, Richard Eugene Hannon, Patrick Harvey, Harold Lee Jr. Heath, Ronald Palmer

Herring, Ted Hertz, Guerry Wayne Hodges, George Michael Hunter, James Eugene Hutchinson, Jeffrey Glenn Israel, Connie Ray Jackson, Etheria Verdel Jennings, Bryan Fredrick Jimenez, Jose Antonio Johnson, Ronnie Jones, David Wyatt Jones, Randall Scott Jones, Victor Tony Kelley, William Harold Kokal, Gregory Lamarca, Anthony Lambrix, Cary Michael Lawrence, Gary Lawrence, Jonathan Huey Lightbourne, Ian Deco Looney, Jason Lott, Ken Eldon Lucas, Harold Lugo, Daniel Mansfield, Scott Marquard, John Christopher Marshall, Matthew McDonald, Meryl S.

Honorable Rick Scott, Governor

April 2, 2015

Page: 3

Mendoza, Marbel Morris, Robert D. Morton, Alvin Leroy

Nelson, Micah

Oats, Sonny Boy, Jr. Occhicone, Dominick A.

Owen, Duane Eugene Pace, Bruce Douglas

Pagan, Alex

Peterka, Daniel Jon Philmore, Lenard James

Pietri, Noberto

Ponticelli, Anthony John

Pooler, Leroy

Pope, Thomas Dewey

Puiatti, Carl

Quince, Kenneth Darcell

Randolph, Richard Barry

Reed, Grover B.

Reese, John Loveman

Rhodes, Richard Wallace

Robinson, Michael Lee Rodriguez, Manuel Antonio

Rogers, Glen Edward

Rose, Milo A. San Martin, Pablo

Scott, Paul William Shere, Richard Earl Jr.

Sireci, Henry Sliney, Jack R.

Smithers, Samuel L.

Sochor, Dennis Spann, Anthony A. Spencer, Dusty Ray Stephens, Jason Demetrius Stewart, Kenneth Allen

Suggs, Ernest

Sweet, William Earl Thompson, William Lee

Trepal, George Trotter, Melvin

Turner, William Thaddeus Wainwright, Anthony Floyd

Walls, Frank A.
Walton, Jason Dirk

White, William Melvin Whitfield, Ernest Windom, Curtis

Zack, Michael Duane, III Zakrzewski, Edward J., II Zeigler, William Thomas, Jr.

In addition to the individuals listed above, the following individuals under a sentence of death have completed the initial postconviction proceedings in state court but do not appear to have timely filed a federal habeas corpus petition within the time frame allowed.

Jones, Marvin Burnett Krawczuk, Anton J. Miller, David Jr. Rose, James Franklin

Finally, the following individuals are without a complete first state postconviction process and a first federal habeas corpus but they have no current case activity in any court. Some listed in this section have filed pursuant to Rule 3.851(i) of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure and their postconviction proceedings were dismissed and collateral counsel was discharged. Others appear to have waived their right to further litigation.

Gill, Ricardo I.

James, Edward T.

^{*}Existing death warrant

Honorable Rick Scott, Governor April 2, 2015

Page: 4

Jeffries, Sonny Muehleman, Jeffrey Rodgers, Jeremiah M

Many of the individuals on these lists may have so called "successive" postconviction matters pending relating to their death sentence at some level in either state or federal court. Those individuals are not specifically identified here because it appears those pending matters are irrelevant to the determination of whether they should be included on the certification list.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

John A. Tomasino

JAT/TW/vbv

^{1.} I am not sure what legal effect the words "allowed the time permitted" to expire has compared to "the time has expired." I have included on this list those persons where the time has, in my opinion, expired. I do not know if the individuals "allowed" it to expire.

^{2.} The majority of this information comes from sources other than Florida Supreme Court case files. I believe the information is accurate but cannot say it is not subject to dispute. It also involved a number of judgments in which reasonable people could reach different results.

^{3.} The list is in alphabetical order by last name.

^{4.} The statute uses the phrase "convicted and sentenced to death." I have not included individuals on this list who have been convicted and sentenced to death and who have also completed the initial rounds of review but who are not currently under a sentence of death because they have been granted a new trial or new sentencing hearing but that new proceeding has not yet been completed.

^{5.} Mr. Bolin has two death cases one from Hillsborough County and one from Pasco County. One sentence (Pasco County) meets the qualification for certification; the other does not.

^{6.} Mr. Franqui has two death cases both from Miami-Dade County. One sentence meets the qualification for certification; the other does not.